top of page

Classroom Management in Spanish

Spanish

Ryan Daley

Problem Identified: When students enter Spanish class, they often take 3-5 minutes to calm down and focus. What are some ways that I can reduce the work I’m doing to keep the class managed?

Hypothesis: If I work to establish consistent activities that are clear and entry routines for 7th grade Spanish classes, then students will begin class within 1-2 minutes with a regular activity--most are slightly longer than a Do Now-- as measured by their completion in Google Forms and Flipgrid.

Data Collection: Data collection through Google Forms used to them move students into flexible groupings. I had students complete both Do Nows/Activities in Google Forms LINKED to Flipgrid. The Form material would then be more easily connected to the Flipgrid assignment.

Actionable Step: Because everyone is familiar with Flipgrid and Google Forms at this point, this is easily doable in a classroom setting. I prefer to integrate the link to a Google Form Activity into Flipgrid

Overall Findings/Impact: Keeping students productively working to understand content is a key to managing the flow of my classroom. I won’t say that I found this to be a permanent fix, but the classroom dynamic was easier to manage once I had this in place. Because students are expected to produce target language forms and structures, creating assignments that addressed this was and will be the goal going forward.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page